NLS5 & Library Camp Australia round-up

One of the things I’ve noticed about myself in terms of reflecting on professional development is that I have an intense burst during the event, where I am supercharged and keen and have a million ideas firing, and then afterwards I fall over (literally or figuratively, often both) and/or my attention gets grabbed by other things, and I then struggle to get back to the inspired place of the event. I know reflection is a practice that I engage in, and it’s often very deep, but I seem to do it at a different rate to others. It’s almost 3 weeks since NLS5, and I only now feel that I can look back and put into words the things that came out of the week in Perth. And I feel like I don’t quite know where to start.

There have already been some great posts on the event, from others whose reflective process is faster than mine. Kate Davis’ post sums up a lot of what I feel as well, especially in relation to authenticity, work/life balance, not being superhuman, and no longer identifying as a new graduate. Awesome LIS student and winner of NGAC’s free registration to NLS5 Julia Garnett has described the whirlwind that was the four days of tours, workshops, papers and camping, library style.

Committee member Con has ruminated on keynotes and key learnings, Jo’s reflection covers a lot in a comparably short (impressively so!) post, super conference attendee Kim attended ALIA Lib Tech as well, Kathryn has more posts than I can count (or link to), and Hoi has kindly blogged about how to make owls and yoyos, which were Library Camp specials. I have just been humbled reading this post by a new twitter friend who seems to think I’m an ALIA ambassador (I’m not, I’m an active volunteer) and another where Freya shows she has found her professional mojo, which pleases me no end.

In the twittersphere I know there has been a lot of chatter, both at the conference and since. I have seen posts that have come from ideas sparked at the conference, Lyndelle made an awesome wordle that shows the tweet cloud that was #NLS5. There are photos galore on flickr, Kate has cover-it-lives for each day, and I’m sure there will be more blog posts to come. Keynotes and plenary slideshares and blogs are available from Samantha Hughes, Kathryn Greenhill, David Lee King, Kate Davis, and Mal Booth. Full papers from the conference will be available soon.

Garry Conroy-Cooper and I with my bespoke bookmark

My highlights were actually very personal at this conference, as were some of the things I’d like to share, and I will blog more on those in separate posts. So you can hold me to it, the topics are:

  • the importance of the New Librarian’s Symposium
  • my research & presentations
  • how to keep your conference mojo
  • to brand or not to brand, navigating the professional landscape
  • how an ENFP can relax like an ISTJ
  • library rockstars

On the latter topic, Garry Conroy Cooper was undoubtedly the #NLS5 crush of choice. And he crushed on my cross-stitch, which was awesome.

I’m going to work for him one day.

About Naomi Doessel

I'm a librarian by profession and a reader at heart. I occasionally blog about the profession, my relationship with food, and I annually fundraise for ovarian cancer research and prevention during Frocktober.
This entry was posted in Conferences, librarians, new graduates, PLN, professional development. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NLS5 & Library Camp Australia round-up

  1. Julia G says:

    I’m an INFP. Perhaps I should blog about how I rocked the weekend like an ENFP? But then…like you, I fell over, and have only made one other blog post.

Leave a Reply

