Spamming for a good cause

What on earth? I hear you say.

How is that possible?

But… but… spam is EVIL!

Yes, I know. Unfortunately, I have been reduced to spamming. Although is it spamming if you’re after specific information and are not trying to sell something? And if you send the same email but personalise it with the individual’s name 13 times?

I have just emailed 13 separate individuals of the ALA NMRT because I have previously had no luck in getting information about:

a) the conference mentoring program I based my pilot project on

b) applying to present at ALA NMRT about my pilot project or even

c) just to talk to someone about the whole thing!

My Mum accused me of not trying hard enough. She refused to believe that NO-ONE had responded to my emails. Well, she’s right, one person did. And they were lovely about it, saying they basically had no idea and couldn’t help me.

So this time I have emailed half of the ALA NMRT committee (all of those I thought could perhaps be vaguely the right person/people) and hopefully will get a positive response from someone.

Either way, I’m going to ALA in 2012!

About Naomi Doessel

I'm a librarian by profession and a reader at heart. I occasionally blog about the profession, my relationship with food, and I annually fundraise for ovarian cancer research and prevention during Frocktober.
This entry was posted in #blogjune, Conferences, new graduates, Research. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spamming for a good cause

  1. Polyxena says:

    Any of them on FB or twitter? Sometimes that gets people whom emails pass by

Leave a Reply

