23 Things for Professional Development

My mind has been buzzing with ideas as I have been lucky over the last few days to be gaining rich professional development opportunities. I will be trying to catch the ideas and distil them over the next few days for individual blog posts where appropriate, but here is a short list:

  • corresponding with American librarian Lorna, of The Lorna Initiative from my last post about the importance of professional involvement – many ideas that have been percolating for over a year are simmering, ready for a cooking-metaphor laden post in days to come 😉
  • emailing with various ALA NMRT members trying to track down the right person to speak to about attending ALA Annual next year and continuing my research into conference mentoring, and potentially sharing what I have found in my research here – this interaction has helped me to realise the potential for international collaboration and parallel research initiatives, and reaffirmed for me how lovely librarians are!
  • an incredible Blended Learning Community of Practice at MPOW this morning that included an excellent presentation on digital literacies from a Dean of Learning & Teaching and the 2008 Education Teacher Educator of the Year which answered many questions and provoked many more
  • a summary at the same event of the highlights from CCA Educause which reaffirmed what I have been thinking about the need for us to move more into effective blended learning and “just in time” for information literacy, ICT and academic skills instruction at MPOW
  • a fruitful (and exhausting!) meeting to discuss the redevelopment of our online information literacy tutorial where we discussed the pros (not many cons) of integrating our information literacy and academic literacy products together, and debated with our designers how best to create an effective, leading-edge product.

And finally, (another!) post to the NMRT list on a free program of professional development called 23 Things for Professional Development @cpd23 #cpd23. Looking at the list of programs, I already can and do play with a lot of those technologies, but am signing up to see what I can gain from it, and encourage you to too!

It is part of my professional development plan, however, to ensure that I don’t burn out. Therefore I am going to put a lid on the ideas for further research and I the 8 degrees I want sign up for, and go home to some non-professional time.

See you tomorrow!

About Naomi Doessel

I'm a librarian by profession and a reader at heart. I occasionally blog about the profession, my relationship with food, and I annually fundraise for ovarian cancer research and prevention during Frocktober.
This entry was posted in #blogjune, information literacy, new graduates, professional development. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 23 Things for Professional Development

  1. Pingback: Days 8-9: #blogjune Double Feature | Libraries Interact

Leave a Reply

