#NLS5 presentations

Back in 2010, I decided I wanted to do some research. One of the outputs of this crazy idea was presented at the New Librarians Symposium 5 in Perth, on 17th September at around 11am. The topic was how to survive conference attendance, and I tried to take the advice within it during my time at the conference, which was why I didn’t tweet in every session, or force myself to blog right away. I also had a holiday after the conference. It was lovely 🙂

I have to user PowerPoint at work, and I hate it, so each time I do a presentation I play with Prezi. This one was frustrating (they always are) but fun (they always are). I used my (bad) drawing skills, which had a kind of pre-school feel to it for me.

I also ran a workshop on the same day, at about 4pm, with help from Fi, Emerald and Rachel. It was on writing for publication, and it was based on a workshop presented at ALIA Access 2010 with Vanessa, Kate and Jennifer. We created a wiki for both the content and for researchers to potentially collaborate and share ideas. I had the opportunity to speak with the Chair of ALIA’s Research Committee at the conference, so maybe there will be some collaboration in future.

About Naomi Doessel

I'm a librarian by profession and a reader at heart. I occasionally blog about the profession, my relationship with food, and I annually fundraise for ovarian cancer research and prevention during Frocktober.
This entry was posted in Conferences, new graduates, professional development, Research. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

